SMORGASBURG LA

Smorgasburg-LA-event

In just a few hours I am going to be in Palm Desert, sipping, lounging, and of course chasing my little ones in and out of the pool. As of today, I am in total VACATION MODE. Never mind work, cleaning, and packing, which I am dreading the most! What is it about packing when you have children that make it exciting, daunting and terrifying all at the same time?? Forget one specific outfit or toy and the vacation is “ruined” according to your six-year-old. I swear she is such a drama queen. Luckily I have a way of combatting such forgetfulness that this momma is so prone too, lists! Yes, before packing I will sit, with a pad of paper and pen in hand, and make a complete list of everything that I need to bring. Shirts, shoes, toothbrush, diapers, wipes, bathing suits, toys…you get the idea. Anyone else write these little vacation packing lists, or is it just me?

Anyways, back to my original thought, Smorgasbord LA.

If you follow me on Instagram then you may know that last Sunday the girls and I, aunties in tow, went to check out Smorgasburg LA for the first time. We had such a great time, minus the sweltering heat, that I thought I’d share a bit of info and a few more photos.

First things first. Smorgasburg LA is an event that hosts food and craft vendors every Sunday in Downtown LA at the Alameda Produce Market. Admission is free and there is free parking for up to two hours. Which is an added bonus because it is nearly impossible to find that in DTLA!

Lucky for us, the day we went the crowds were pretty tolerable. Maybe it was the weather, which was a little too hot for me, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that we weren’t stuffed in like sardines. The crowd itself was pretty mixed; lots of younger people and even families. We arrived around 1 o’clock, which was a little late since hours run from 10am-4pm. By the time we did a lap and decided what we wanted to eat (there are about 45 food vendors and all), some of the more popular vendors had already run out of their best dishes. So just a little FYI, especially if you are a foodie, get there before 12!

Unfortunately, I was so busy eating I didn’t take any food photos. I know, what kind of blogger am I? But when you’re hungry, hot, and trying to control two kids, photos of your food are the last thing on your mind. So you’re just going to have to take my word for it. 

First up, CHEEZUS: Known for their “designer” grilled cheese, it is a cheese-lovers paradise. Along with some great menu items, they also have additional items to add to your sandwich like bone marrow butter. If you’re obsessed with cheese, like I am, I would definitely try them out.

Next, we tried LADE Slush: Perfect for such a hot day, these slushies come in a bunch of great flavors. The one we tried was lemonade and mint which was super refreshing and tasted so yummy!

After that, we decided on Workaholic Korean Mandu (dumplings): One of the longer lines we stood in, these dumplings left us with mixed reviews. First off, you can pick either two or three dumplings which come on a bed of salad. Now the salad and dressing were really delicious, but the dumplings were subpar. We chose two, the garlic shrimp and beef and kimchi. The shrimp cost an extra $2, which was fine until I actually ate it and found just a few microscopic shrimp. Besides that, the flavors were all on point, but I don’t think I’d pay $17 again for two dumplings. They have other options on their menu so maybe next time I’ll have better luck choosing something else, like their flying noodles.

Finally, for dessert, we chose Churro Boss: We got the larger portion to split, which comes with quite of few bite-sized churros. We topped ours with condensed milk, chocolate syrup and a side of whipped cream. The churros were made to order so they were super fresh, soft and delicious. But next time we will definitely get the smaller order. After eating all day we could not finish it all. 

All in all, we had a great time walking around stuffing our faces with good food. So if Sunday comes around and you have nothing planned go check out Smorgasburg LA!

 

Smorgasburg-LA
My only “food pic”
Smorgasburg-LA-treats
Super cute clothing vendor, doesn’t she just fit right in?

Smorgasburg-LA-downtownSmorgasburg-LA-foodieSmorgasburg-LA-SundaySmorgasburg-LA-DTLAProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetSmorgasburg-LA-foodProcessed with VSCO with a5 preset

 

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

