HONEST MOMMY MOMENT

Honest-Mommy-Vacation.jpg

We are back from our little vacation in Palm Desert and we had the absolute best time! If you follow me on Instagram you already know that we did nothing but hang out by the pool, play, and watch movies. But seriously, if you are looking for a fun getaway for yourself and the kids check out Shadow Ridge Marriot- The Enclaves. They not only have an amazing facility with tons of pools and even a waterslide, but they have a whole staff dedicated to family activities. From poolside bingo, scavenger hunts, tie-dye shirt making, lawn games, and even a ‘dive-in movie’ every night by the pool, the number of activities are seriously endless! Plus when you add in the mini movie theater, arcade and video games all located on site there is not much more you could want or ask for.

Honest-MommyProcessed with VSCO with hb1 presetHonest-Moment-body-imageHonest-truthHonest-Mommy-MomentHonest-Mom-truth

Like I said, we had such a fun time and it was great for the girls to spend some quality time with their cousins. But back to my original thought, my honest mommy moment.

Okay, so if you read my Mommy Must Haves: Swimsuits than you already have an idea that I am no longer comfortable sporting an itsy-bitsy bikini. I love bikinis and still have a slight obsession with them but my choices in style have dramatically changed since having my kids. Gone are the day of completely baring my midriff and wearing Brazilian bottoms. Although, I wouldn’t totally be against it if it weren’t for my stretch marks. 

Now I know what you are probably thinking, “Stretch marks? Big deal, practically all moms have them. Why are you letting that stop you from rocking a cute little bikini??” And you are totally right. I’ve had this conversation with myself a million times but for some reason, I just don’t feel comfortable in my mom-bod. I know a lot of moms struggle with this issue but then again some don’t. So why is it that some moms can rock their perfectly-imperfect physique while some, like myself, can’t??

Obviously, this was a question that came to mind while I was on my recent vacation.

While getting ready for our first day by the pool, my cousin pointed out that I was wearing a one piece. For her, I am sure it was a funny thing to see considering that I always wore a bikini. But for me, I didn’t think much of it because wearing a one-piece is what moms do, right? Well, I couldn’t have been more wrong. 

As we made our way down to the pool I began to notice that almost all the moms there were in a two piece swimsuit. Stretchmarks and all they had no shame in their game and were totally rocking their mom-bods. To my surprise, even my cousin who had just had her second child about four months ago was wearing a tinier bikini than I was! It almost made me feel ashamed for being ashamed of my own mom-bod. As I continued to look around I wondered why I wasn’t as confident as these other women. Do I have body-image issues? Am I just being modest? Or are we in the midst of a mom-bod revolution and I am just the last person to realize it??

The longer I thought the more questions came to mind. Obviously, I cover up because I am not fully comfortable with my new body. It sucks, and I know I shouldn’t feel like this but I do. Some days are easier than others and I hope in time I’ll overcome this issue, but until then I have a question for all you mommas. When did you become comfortable in your new skin? Did working out help? Or did time help you see your true beauty? For those mommas like me, are you doing anything to help your own mom-bod issues?

I would love to hear any and all answers so please leave a comment, DM, or email me! 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “HONEST MOMMY MOMENT

  1. First of all, you are GORGEOUS! Second, I love that blue swimsuit! The tie in the front is a great detail and makes it unique. Kinda have to agree with some of your inner thoughts though, you should think that way! It’s your body and you should love it, stretch marks and all! Easier said than done, I know. Believe me, I know, LOL! I have stretch marks, cellulite and scars… and at 37 I am JUST now learning to wear a two piece. 0.0 Crazy, no? Looks like a fantastic vacation and you have a lovely family!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, you are too sweet! And thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Isn’t it crazy that we can be our own worst critics?? I’m really working hard at trying to change that. Thank you again for your kind words and support!

      Like

  2. You do you! Want to rock a one-piece ? Go for it! I think it’s hard for all moms after you have children. Nothing is ever really the same. Whatever makes you feel most comfortable so you can relax and enjoy your vacay with the fam is best , in my opinion. Awesome pics and great post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right. Being comfortable no matter what is key! Also, practicality when you’re chasing after two kids hahaha. Thanks for reading!! xo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I started working out as soon as I could post babies. I wasn’t necessarily ashamed of my body- I appreciated that I had grown a human and gave birth to a baby, but it wasn’t the body I had had my whole life and wasn’t what I was used to. I think that’s ok. Working out has really helped me, but I would probably just encourage you to not think of it as being ashamed- it’s essentially a new body, and I don’t feel like there’s Shane in not being fully comfortable yet. (On a side. For though- you’re gorgeous, mama!) 💛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to respond! I feel like getting acquainted with my new mom-bod is almost like going through a second puberty! hahaha Some things have changed and everything is a bit unfamiliar. I’m really considering working out to not only boost my confidence but obviously to be as healthy as I can be. Again, thank you! I truely appreciate the support and your kind words!

      Like

    1. Aww, thank you for reading! I know it’s a common concern amongst most moms but I still felt a little vulnerable sharing. But comments like yours make it all worth it!

      Like

  4. I think with time I learned to embrace what had changed and know that my body was the result of creating life. That doesn’t always bring comfort but for the most part I’ve challenged myself to find new ways to feel sexy with who i’ve become.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I didn’t love my postpartum body after my first but I really came to appreciate it after having my second and third. I realized how hard it had to work to produce my tiny humans and I’m really grateful that I’ve been able to carry all of them.

    With that said, now that I’ve had 3 kids in the last 4 years, I’m ready to get my pre-baby body back. I’m not ashamed of my body but I’d like to feel like myself again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just had my second about 18 months ago and I’m still trying to adjust to this new me. We plan on having more so I guess it’s better to start giving my body credit than feel ashamed. Thank you for sharing! Oh, and if you have any work out tips please let me know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

